Dream Journal Update, November 29

Is it legal?  The policies can’t be legal.  But somehow they get away with it.  People are too afraid they will lose their jobs if they complain.

Frank Conrad sits directly across from me, explaining.  “We want a moral work environment now. When children open up their bedroom door, they see into their parents’ room.  The parents must behave properly, so children will have the right moral environment.”

What does this have to do with this workplace?  Is that why I was pushed out of the office?

As people had rearranged the furniture and seating arrangements, my office space disappeared.  The large room, full of dark wood pod workspaces, ancient dark wood file cabinets, a mishmash of tables, chairs, and cubicles, had no place for me anymore.  Some people tried to find a place to squeeze me in, but there was no room for my chair.    I packed my things up best I could.  Frank made wisecracks about there not being room for me, but I  stormed out, saying he could find me in the cafeteria.  Eventually Frank found me there.

“We want people to go to church, have moral lives,” said Frank.

Is that the problem?  I’m Jewish and don’t go to church?  This can’t be legal.

But no one can complain.

“We want people to be married with children.  Not live alone and have sex.”

“I live alone but I don’t have sex,” I tell him, my eyes averting his.

He notices.  Tells me he notices my diverted gaze.  I look him straight in the eye now.

“I don’t have sex.”

“I don’t believe you,’ Frank says.  “I don’t believe you.”
 

About B. E. Berger

Making life better by sharing stories and pictures.
This entry was posted in Dreams and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

